This morning, I refreshed the facebook feed to see something awesome. A 14 year old Iowa boy was able to stop a home invasion because of training he received from his father with a rifle. You can watch the video from Iowa Gun Owners’ facebook page HERE. This is the perfect example of why you need to train your entire pack, or family :). They had a plan and they put it into action, and because of that, those kids are safe today!

Anyone who knows me personally, knows I am a BIG, BIG believer in training. For those of you that don’t know me, I was formerly the head of the training department in the medical transport company I used to work in. I was also an instructor of several certifications required for medics & paramedics. I know PERSONALLY (both in the EMS field as well as in my personal life) that when things get serious, you fall back on your training whether it’s good or bad. This is why training is so, so important.

The boy in the video had a plan that he had clearly practiced. Not only had he been taught firearm safety from his father, but he also knew to get the cell phone and the rifle to bring into the closet with him. I cannot stress the importance of not only HAVING a plan, but PRACTICING that plan.

I’m currently working on putting together a course that will discuss exactly this. Planning for different scenarios– home invasions, fires, storms, even power outages. All of these require a plan and practice. It doesn’t take long to figure out what you would do in an emergency situation, nor does it take very long to practice that plan a couple times a month. Besides, this can be the difference between life or death, so is it really something you want to NOT practice and be prepared for?

 

