These three questions were posed to us by Carrie Lightfoot of The Well Armed Woman at the beginning, and again at the end of our instructor training weekend in Arizona. I’ve taken my time thinking about the answer because I wanted it to be perfect, but I think I’m just going to let it flow.

Who am I? 

 

Anyone who knows me well, knows one of my favorite television shows of all times is White Collar. The main character of the show is named Neal Caffrey, and he says, “To be an artist, you have to know who you are.”

That’s the first time I started thinking about that quote. I consider myself an artist. I can (kind of) draw, paint, sing, write, create… that counts as an artist right?

But I’m also so much more than that. I DO consider myself an artist, a writer, director, a singer, but I’m also a mother, wife, nerd, fangirl, teacher, level I Reiki healer, medic, student, and so much more. Not to mention, I am a survivor, but I prefer the term protector. . I’m a lot of things rolled into one and I don’t think that there’s ONE term or sentence that can accurately describe me as a whole, but for the purposes of this exercise,

                                                                          I am a protector.

What do I do?

I do a lot of things, but the first that comes to mind is WORRY. I’m a worrier. But I don’t think this is the purpose of the exercise Carrie gave us 🙂

                                        I encourage, inspire, and teach women how to pull
from within the confidence that they have and EMPOWER them with it.

 

Why do I do it?

I do these things, take classes, train, train more, and teach other women because the world has told us for a long, long time that we are weak and incapable of defending ourselves. To let the MAN take care of us, when sometimes, for whatever reason, that’s not an option. Women are FIERCE and STRONG and COURAGEOUS and so many don’t realize the full potential that they hold inside of them. I’m starting this journey to help other women find that courage and strength and use it.

                                                  Being able to protect yourself is invaluable,
and more women need to know that they are capable of it.
I’m here to help them see that in themselves.

